nComp=2 in TurbSim

Discuss the effects of turbulence on wind turbines and its simulation.

Moderator: Bonnie.Jonkman

Jan.Spitzer
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:55 am
Organization: Leibniz University Hannover
Location: Germany - Hannover

nComp=2 in TurbSim

Postby Jan.Spitzer » Wed Apr 24, 2019 2:28 pm

Hi all,

somehow Turbsim will show me a severe error while running with User time series. Everything workes normally when nComp in the User Time Series file is set to 3 with a constant w=0.
Unfortunately, as soon as I set nComp to 2 (since I only have u and v components in my input file), TurbSim tells me the followiing after startup:

Code: Select all

 Running TurbSim (v2.00.07a-bjj, 14-Jun-2016).

 Reading the input file "TurbSim.inp".

 Reading the user-defined time-series input file ".\Messpunkt01.inp".
forrtl: severe (157): Program Exception - access violation
Image              PC                Routine            Line        Source
TurbSim_x64.exe    00007FF7817EEB5B  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown
TurbSim_x64.exe    00007FF781709AA3  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown
TurbSim_x64.exe    00007FF7817409D5  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown
TurbSim_x64.exe    00007FF781D9D2E6  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown
TurbSim_x64.exe    00007FF7822C7E9C  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown
KERNEL32.DLL       00007FFD3B6A4034  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown
ntdll.dll          00007FFD3DF63691  Unknown               Unknown  Unknown


Is there a way to solve this problem? With nComp=3 the programm is working quiet well, but since in real life w-velocity values will never be zero for a longer period, it would probably be better simulating without a w-value in the input file.

Thank you guys so much in advance and
greetings from Germany
Jan Spitzer

Bonnie.Jonkman
Posts: 558
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:51 am
Organization: Envision Energy USA
Location: Colorado
Location: Boulder, CO
Contact:

Re: nComp=2 in TurbSim

Postby Bonnie.Jonkman » Wed Apr 24, 2019 8:55 pm

Hi, Jan.

I think this bug has been fixed in the latest version of OpenFAST (https://github.com/openfast/openfast). It might be in the master branch, but I'm pretty certain it was merged into the dev branch. Let me know if that doesn't fix the problem.

When you set nComp to 2, though, it just sets w to 0.

I never had the time/funding to add a method to estimate the full-field turbulence for unmeasured velocity components while I was at NREL. You could probably use the user-defined spectral model to generate a somewhat realistic vertical component based on the longitudinal/lateral wind-speed measurements (or just use the standard Kaimal model), and then combine that simulated vertical wind speed with the longitudinal and lateral wind speed simulated with the user time series method. It's a lot of extra work, though.
Bonnie Jonkman

Envision Energy USA, 2016-
National Renewable Energy Laboratory, 2003-2016

Jan.Spitzer
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:55 am
Organization: Leibniz University Hannover
Location: Germany - Hannover

Re: nComp=2 in TurbSim

Postby Jan.Spitzer » Sat Apr 27, 2019 5:00 am

Hi Bonnie,

thank you so much for your quick answer!
Especially the reminder of TurbSim setting the w-component to zero automatically helped a lot.

Best regards
Jan


Return to “Inflow Turbulence”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests