Problemes with the difference of FASTv7 and FASTV8

Discuss the theory and modeling of rotor aerodynamics.

Moderator: Bonnie.Jonkman

Zhou.Lin
Organization: Dalian University of Techology

Problemes with the difference of FASTv7 and FASTV8

Postby Zhou.Lin » Fri May 18, 2018 4:16 am

Dear Jason,
I am a new user of Aerodyn V15.04, and FAST v8 also. I am a graduated student, I used the Oc3-monpile model of TEST19 in FASTV8. I have encountered some problems, and I think you can share your experience in this field.

1.I used the model was conducted in a typical working conditions, the typical working condition is steady wind v = 8 m/s , regular wave T = 10 s, H = 6 m, other primary input file I didn't change, when using a FAST simulation of wave height of Airy wave curve is not a regular wave, it is like a stream function, the picture is the wave height. Then I disable the WvDiffQTF and WvSumQTF in HydynDyn files, I found my output wave high schedule rules is airy wave, I want to ask is that disable and enable both what effect will the wave height schedules, and have an effect on other parameters.
untitled3.jpg
untitled3.jpg (128.49 KiB) Viewed 6736 times

2.Under the same conditions,I set the RotorSpeed=8rpm, In addition, the results were simulated , and the results were compared with the simulation of FASTv7, and the difference was found to be large. This is the input file and comparison diagram of my ElstonDyn.
NRELOffshrBsline5MW_OC3Monopile_ElastoDyn.zip
(4.24 KiB) Downloaded 168 times

untitled.jpg
untitled.jpg (55.38 KiB) Viewed 6736 times

3.I also set up three different types of rotor speed, respectively is rotorSpeed = 8, rotorSpeed = 10, rotorSpeed = 11.4, and has carried on the simulation in FAST18, I found that the output RotorSpeed will eventually tend to 8.9, which I don't really understand this situation.

Best regards,
Zhou Lin

Jason.Jonkman

Re: Problemes with the difference of FASTv7 and FASTV8

Postby Jason.Jonkman » Fri May 18, 2018 6:41 am