Step wind change input

Discuss the effects of turbulence on wind turbines and its simulation.

Moderator: Bonnie.Jonkman

Joannes.Olondriz
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:13 am
Organization: IK4-Ikerlan
Location: Spain

Step wind change input

Postby Joannes.Olondriz » Thu Jun 02, 2016 9:56 am

Dear all,

I was trying to implement a step wind change at certain time as an input but, it is possible?

I did not see nothing on documentation and neither in the code.

Thanks in advance,
JOE
Joannes Olondriz
Engineer | IK4-Ikerlan

Control and Monitoring area, IK4-Ikerlan (Olandixo)
20500 Arrasate-Mondragon (Gipuzkoa). Spain
Paseo J.Mª Arizmendiarrieta, 2
(+34)943 712400 | jolondriz@ikerlan.es

Jason.Jonkman
Posts: 4952
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 4:38 pm
Location: Boulder, CO
Contact:

Re: Step wind change input

Postby Jason.Jonkman » Thu Jun 02, 2016 10:04 am

Dear Joe,

It is easy to specify wind input to FAST v8 with step changes by using "uniform wind" files. See the documentation supplied with the InflowWind module for instructions: https://wind.nrel.gov/nwtc/docs/InflowWind_Manual.pdf. In older versions of FAST, the "uniform wind" files were called "hub-height" wind files and were entered in the AeroDyn input file instead of an InflowWind input file.

Best regards,
Jason Jonkman, Ph.D.
Senior Engineer | National Wind Technology Center (NWTC)

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
15013 Denver West Parkway | Golden, CO 80401
+1 (303) 384 – 7026 | Fax: +1 (303) 384 – 6901
nwtc.nrel.gov

Joannes.Olondriz
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 4:13 am
Organization: IK4-Ikerlan
Location: Spain

Re: Step wind change input

Postby Joannes.Olondriz » Thu Jun 02, 2016 10:18 am

Dear Jonkman,

Thank you for you fast answer. I found it!

Best regards,
JOE
Joannes Olondriz
Engineer | IK4-Ikerlan

Control and Monitoring area, IK4-Ikerlan (Olandixo)
20500 Arrasate-Mondragon (Gipuzkoa). Spain
Paseo J.Mª Arizmendiarrieta, 2
(+34)943 712400 | jolondriz@ikerlan.es

Jing.Li
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 2:42 pm
Organization: GE Research
Location: US - New York

Re: Step wind change input

Postby Jing.Li » Mon Jun 22, 2020 6:49 pm

Dear Jason,

I am also looking for ways to create steady, uniform wind files that have either a constant rate of change or staircase-like step changes in the wind speed for an OpenFAST v2.3.0 turbine model.

In the "UAE_Upwind_Rigid_WRamp_PwrCurve" r-test, the wind speed ramp is achieved through the use of a .wnd file (WindType=2 in the InflowWind input file). I looked up the TurbSim User Manual (version 1.06.00) but didn't find any mentioning of how to create that kind of wind file.

Then I came across this forum post and I'd like to learn more. However the link to the Inflow Wind User Manual is broken and I could not find any other source online. Could you re-share this document?

Jason.Jonkman wrote:
It is easy to specify wind input to FAST v8 with step changes by using "uniform wind" files. See the documentation supplied with the InflowWind module for instructions: https://wind.nrel.gov/nwtc/docs/InflowWind_Manual.pdf. In older versions of FAST, the "uniform wind" files were called "hub-height" wind files and were entered in the AeroDyn input file instead of an InflowWind input file.



Thank you,
Jing

Jason.Jonkman
Posts: 4952
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 4:38 pm
Location: Boulder, CO
Contact:

Re: Step wind change input

Postby Jason.Jonkman » Mon Jun 22, 2020 6:57 pm

Dear Jing,

The uniform wind data files can be created by hand or with simple scripts.

As I announced here: viewtopic.php?f=38&t=1001, the http://wind.nrel.gov/public/jjonkman/ site has also been taken down. I've now shared the InflowWind User's Guide via Google Drive: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1-yJox2 ... sp=sharing.

Best regards,
Jason Jonkman, Ph.D.
Senior Engineer | National Wind Technology Center (NWTC)

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
15013 Denver West Parkway | Golden, CO 80401
+1 (303) 384 – 7026 | Fax: +1 (303) 384 – 6901
nwtc.nrel.gov

Jing.Li
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 2:42 pm
Organization: GE Research
Location: US - New York

Re: Step wind change input

Postby Jing.Li » Mon Jun 22, 2020 7:18 pm

Dear Jason,

Thank you for the link to the User Manual!

Upon taking a look at the "PwrCrv.wnd" file used for the "UAE_Upwind_Rigid_WRamp_PwrCurve" r-test, now it's clear to me how I should set up the wind file.

Best regards,
Jing


Return to “Inflow Turbulence”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests