FAST_SFunc

Provide feedback, request enhancements, and get help with wind-turbine computer-aided engineering tools.

Moderators: Bonnie.Jonkman, Jason.Jonkman

Ana.Carrillo
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:53 am
Organization: self
Location: Spain

FAST_SFunc

Postby Ana.Carrillo » Thu Jun 30, 2011 4:38 am

Good morning,

I'm working with a FAST-Simulink model. The first input of the Wind Turbine block demands electrical generator torque and electrical power (according to FAST's User Guide).
I think that the electrical power is in the generator output, but I have doubts: could it be in the grid?
Thank you

Jason.Jonkman
Posts: 4952
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 4:38 pm
Location: Boulder, CO
Contact:

Re: FAST_SFunc

Postby Jason.Jonkman » Thu Jun 30, 2011 1:01 pm

Dear Ana,

The electrical power refers to the power output of the generator. The electrical power is an indirect input to the FAST S-Function because it is used only for output purposes. It does not directly impact the equations of motion--like the generator torque does--but can be passed as output to be used for controls feedback. You don't need to calculate it if you don't need to output it because it will not impact any other result of FAST.

I hope that helps.

Best regards,
Jason Jonkman, Ph.D.
Senior Engineer | National Wind Technology Center (NWTC)

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
15013 Denver West Parkway | Golden, CO 80401
+1 (303) 384 – 7026 | Fax: +1 (303) 384 – 6901
nwtc.nrel.gov

Ana.Carrillo
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2011 2:53 am
Organization: self
Location: Spain

Re: FAST_SFunc

Postby Ana.Carrillo » Thu Mar 29, 2012 6:51 am

Hi again,

I'm doing some tests to make sure which torque is being demanded by Wind Turbine block:

- Setting:
- VSContrl=3
- GenModel=1
- GBoxEff=80%
- GenEff=90%
- GBRatio=16.9
- DrTrDOF=False

I use Constant blocks to supply electrical generator torque and electrical power demands to the FAST wind turbine block: Te=1300Nm, Pe=100kW

Wind Turbine block's Outputs:

- Powers: all results are consistent

RotPwr=146kW; HSShftPwr=117kW=(GBoxEff/100)*RotPwr OK; GenPwr=100kW (equal to the input Pe) OK

-Torques: ???

RotTorq=27500Nm; HSShftTq=1300Nm=(GBoxEff/(100*GBRatio))*RotTorq OK; GenTq=1300Nm ?????? GenTq=HSShftTq?

I understand: HSShftTq without electrical losses (generator input ), GenTq with electrical losses (generator output). If I'm right should be GenTq=(GenEff/100)*HSShftTq=1171.5Nm but I have GenTq=1300Nm, thus GenEff isn't being used, isn't it?
Does it occur because VSContrl=3 (but GenModel=1)? Thus I think that Wind Turbine block demands generator torque without electrical losses.

Thank,

Best Regard,

Ana

Jason.Jonkman
Posts: 4952
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 4:38 pm
Location: Boulder, CO
Contact:

Re: FAST_SFunc

Postby Jason.Jonkman » Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:11 am

Dear Ana,

For clarification of how the drivetrain model in FAST works, please see the following forum post: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=525. Please note that following nomenclature differneces between that post and your post:

Your Post -> Linked Post
GenTq -> T_Gen
RotTorq -> LSShftTq
RotPwr -> LSShftTq*RotSpeed
HSShftPwr -> HSShftTq*GenSpeed

To clarify, the electrical torque (GenTq = T_Gen) is the torque applied to the generator rotor (or high-speed shaft (HSS)) from the generator stator. This should equal the mechnical torque within the HSS, HSShftTq, if the HSS is not accelerating or decelerating. It is the generator electrical power, GenPwr, that is influenced by the generator efficiency -- see point 3 in the post linked above. Also, GenModel is only used when VSContrl = 0.

I hope that helps.

Best regards,
Jason Jonkman, Ph.D.
Senior Engineer | National Wind Technology Center (NWTC)

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
15013 Denver West Parkway | Golden, CO 80401
+1 (303) 384 – 7026 | Fax: +1 (303) 384 – 6901
nwtc.nrel.gov


Return to “Computer-Aided Engineering Software Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest