Running FAST from Command Prompt

Provide feedback, request enhancements, and get help with wind-turbine computer-aided engineering tools.

Moderators: Bonnie.Jonkman, Jason.Jonkman

James.Luo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:48 pm
Organization: University of Texas at Austin
Location: Texas

Running FAST from Command Prompt

Postby James.Luo » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:14 am

Hi,

I'm trying to run the DTU 10 MW RWT from the command prompt using the input below, but get the error below:

Code: Select all

Input:
'D:\FAST1\bin\FAST_Win32.exe D:\FAST_Runs\OP_Test_16DT\test.fst '

Error:
FAST_InitializeAll:SrvD_Init:BladedInterface_Init:The dynamic library
D:\FAST_Runs\OP_Test_16DT\10MWRWT\ServoData\dtu_we_controller_bladed.dll could not be loaded.
Check that the file exists in the specified location and that it is compiled for 32-bit
applications.


I can run the exact same file by simply dragging the .fst file onto the exact same FAST_Win32 executable without any issues.

To troubleshoot, I have also been able to run the files in the CertTest folder in the command prompt with any issue. So I believe that my input formatting is correct.

If anyone could suggest a reason why I get the error when running through the command prompt or any other avenues for troubleshooting, I'd greatly appreciate it!

Cheers
James

Jason.Jonkman
Posts: 4614
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 4:38 pm
Location: Boulder, CO
Contact:

Re: Running FAST from Command Prompt

Postby Jason.Jonkman » Thu Dec 06, 2018 7:04 am

Dear James,

Is this the correct path to the DLL?:
D:\FAST_Runs\OP_Test_16DT\10MWRWT\ServoData\

Do you specify the full path when specifying DLL_FileName in the ServoDyn input file?

Best regards,
Jason Jonkman, Ph.D.
Senior Engineer | National Wind Technology Center (NWTC)

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
15013 Denver West Parkway | Golden, CO 80401
+1 (303) 384 – 7026 | Fax: +1 (303) 384 – 6901
nwtc.nrel.gov

James.Luo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:48 pm
Organization: University of Texas at Austin
Location: Texas

Re: Running FAST from Command Prompt

Postby James.Luo » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:36 am

Hi Dr. Jonkman,

Thank you for your quick reply!

I've found a workaround for the issue by moving the FAST exe and MAP.dll files to the directory and using relative file paths instead of absolute to execute the command.


Return to “Computer-Aided Engineering Software Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest