Page 2 of 2

Re: Power coefficient/Aerodynamic torque

Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:16 am
by KumaraRaja.Eedara
Yes Jason. I am plotting AeroDyn output RtAeroCp.
Yes, Induced velocity calculation is disabled in my simulation. I did not think about the fact that Betz limit is valid only when BEMT is used.
Thanks for pointing that. Now I understand that exceeding Betz limit is sensible, but how is it possible to generate more power than that is available in the wind? Kindly advice me incase i'm missing something fundamental here. Thanks.

Regards,
Kumara

Re: Power coefficient/Aerodynamic torque

Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:22 am
by Jason.Jonkman
Dear Kumara,

Without induction, energy is not preserved in this simulation, so, energy-related quantities are not accurate. I would set WakeMod = 1.

Best regards,

Re: Power coefficient/Aerodynamic torque

Posted: Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:35 am
by KumaraRaja.Eedara
Dear Jason,

Many thanks for your quick response. I'll do that.

Regards,
Kumara