Power coefficient/Aerodynamic torque

This forum if for discussing controls. Questions about how to implement controls in FAST are more appropriate to the CAE Tools forum.

Moderator: Bonnie.Jonkman

KumaraRaja.Eedara
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:34 pm
Organization: IIT Bombay
Location: Mumbai

Re: Power coefficient/Aerodynamic torque

Postby KumaraRaja.Eedara » Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:16 am

Yes Jason. I am plotting AeroDyn output RtAeroCp.
Yes, Induced velocity calculation is disabled in my simulation. I did not think about the fact that Betz limit is valid only when BEMT is used.
Thanks for pointing that. Now I understand that exceeding Betz limit is sensible, but how is it possible to generate more power than that is available in the wind? Kindly advice me incase i'm missing something fundamental here. Thanks.

Regards,
Kumara

Jason.Jonkman
Posts: 4862
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 4:38 pm
Location: Boulder, CO
Contact:

Re: Power coefficient/Aerodynamic torque

Postby Jason.Jonkman » Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:22 am

Dear Kumara,

Without induction, energy is not preserved in this simulation, so, energy-related quantities are not accurate. I would set WakeMod = 1.

Best regards,
Jason Jonkman, Ph.D.
Senior Engineer | National Wind Technology Center (NWTC)

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
15013 Denver West Parkway | Golden, CO 80401
+1 (303) 384 – 7026 | Fax: +1 (303) 384 – 6901
nwtc.nrel.gov

KumaraRaja.Eedara
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:34 pm
Organization: IIT Bombay
Location: Mumbai

Re: Power coefficient/Aerodynamic torque

Postby KumaraRaja.Eedara » Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:35 am

Dear Jason,

Many thanks for your quick response. I'll do that.

Regards,
Kumara


Return to “Controls”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest