"DISCON.dll could not be loaded"

This forum if for discussing controls. Questions about how to implement controls in FAST are more appropriate to the CAE Tools forum.

Moderator: Bonnie.Jonkman

Audrey.Viala
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:20 am
Organization: Cranfield university
Location: France

"DISCON.dll could not be loaded"

Postby Audrey.Viala » Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:24 am

Dear all,

I am running FAST "FAST_v7.02.00d-bjj_AeroDyn_v13.00.02a-bjj_BladedDLLInterface" but I have the following error:

Code: Select all

 Running NWTC Subroutine Library (v1.07.00b-mlb, 10-Jan-2013).

 Running FAST (v7.02.00d-bjj, 20-Feb-2013).

 Heading of the FAST input file: NREL 5.0 MW Baseline Wind Turbine for Use in Offshore Analysis.

 Running NWTC Subroutine Library (v1.07.00b-mlb, 10-Jan-2013).

 Running AeroDyn (v13.00.02a-bjj, 20-Feb-2013).
 Heading of the AeroDyn input file: NREL 5.0 MW offshore baseline aerodynamic input properties;
 Compatible with AeroDyn v12.58.

 Running NWTC Subroutine Library (v1.07.00b-mlb, 10-Jan-2013).

 Using InflowWind (v1.01.00b-bjj, 10-Aug-2012)

 Assuming .\Wind\TurbSim.hh is a formatted HH wind file.

 Running NWTC Subroutine Library (v1.07.00b-mlb, 10-Jan-2013).
 Reading 11 lines of data from the HH wind file.

 ADAMS dataset file 'NRELOffshrBsline5MW_Onshore_ADAMS.adm' created.
 ADAMS command file 'NRELOffshrBsline5MW_Onshore_ADAMS.acf' created.
 ADAMS command file 'NRELOffshrBsline5MW_Onshore_ADAMS_LIN.acf' created.


 The DLL DISCON.dll could not be loaded.

 Aborting FAST.

However, I have the DISCON.DLL and the DISCON.f90 files in the folder.
Have you an idea of how to solve this error?
Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Audrey

Bonnie.Jonkman
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2005 10:51 am
Organization: Envision Energy USA
Location: Colorado
Location: Boulder, CO
Contact:

Re: "DISCON.dll could not be loaded"

Postby Bonnie.Jonkman » Wed Jul 06, 2016 12:10 pm

You can get this error if you have a 32-bit DISCON.DLL and are using a 64-bit version of FAST or vice versa (64-bit DISCON.DLL with 32-bit FAST). If you have an NREL-supplied version of FAST 7, it should be a 32-bit application.

You can also get this error if DISCON.DLL isn't in the current working directory. This is the directory where you are running FAST v7 (not necessarily the same place the FAST executable is located or the input files are located). You don't need the DISCON.f90 file after you have created DISCON.DLL.

If neither of the above solutions work, check that your DISCON.DLL was compiled properly.
Bonnie Jonkman

Envision Energy USA, 2016-
National Renewable Energy Laboratory, 2003-2016

Arnold.Ramsland
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:27 am
Organization: Ramsland Technology, LLC
Location: North Carolina

Re: "DISCON.dll could not be loaded"

Postby Arnold.Ramsland » Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:26 am

I had the same error statement "DISCON.dll could not be loaded", however the error only occurred when running FAST from a directory other than C. In my case I copied all CertTest files and directories from C: to V:. FAST ran without problem in the C directory. I was able to resolve the problem by changing the name of the referenced .dll file in the respective ServoDyn file to match exactly the name of the actual .dll file in the ServoData directory. For example, in the file entitled NRELOffshrBsline5MW_OC3Hywind_ServoDyn.dat, the referenced dll file is "ServoData\DISCON_OC3Hywind_win32.dll". The actual name of the file in the ServoData directory, however is DISCON_OC3Hywind_Win32.dll, where the W is capitalized. Changing the name of the referenced dll file to "ServoData\DISCON_OC3Hywind_Win32.dll" eliminated the problem. Perhaps this problem is not universal or perhaps can be eliminated with a batch file, however I found that with my computer operating under Windows 7, file names are case sensitive outside the C directory.


Return to “Controls”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest